Happy Holidays to You and Us

Coda & Lil GWith the typical beginning of the holiday season being Thanksgiving, we started out with a bang…or maybe it was a SPLAT!  Cue the sound of water breaking! Is that the sound of a tall horse peeing on a flat rock?  No sir, it was the soggy sound of a newborn’s pre-flight check list!  We were over the moon to be blessed by the early arrival of our first grandchild.  His due date was December 5th but  he decided to show up unexpectedly before the holiday, and kept the new parents in the hospital until Thanksgiving day, thereby showing us IMG_1503all who will be running the show for a while.  But we are all thankful that his arrival was fairly easy as fast for Alexis (or as easy as it can be to squeeze an oven-stuffer roaster through a ketchup bottle), steady but controlled enough for Matt to navigate the rush hour traffic from work to home to hospital, and timely enough for the whole herd of grandparents to arrive before he landed.  We now have a beautiful baby boy to cuddle and love, only to pass him off to Mom or Dad when he starts to smell bad.  I think because his mother has worked on special events at Walt Disney World for such a long time, Lil’ G loves nothing more than having a Pyro Party in his Pants!  Cue the fireworks and hand him off!  I knew I’d love being a Nana!  Steven has chosen to stay with Shreve as his grandpa name, leaving the other more traditional names to the other grandpas.  It fits!

FU** CANCER TATTOOIt’s hard to believe we have more news even better than our baby’s baby…but we do!  It looks like Steven will be around to show this addition what NOT to do for a LONG time.  The results of last week’s PET scan came in the form of a 1/2 page report which was “No Abnormal Activity!!!”  In layman’s terms that spells NO CANCER.  Another holiday miracle for our family!  Even though we had no reason to think otherwise, it’s always great to get confirmation in black and white!  The IMG_1529stem cell transplant worked, the new cells are doing what they are supposed to be doing without being mugged by any Crips or Bloods gang cancer cells and we are breathing completely normally for the first time in 12 years!  To celebrate this momentous event, Steven got himself a new tattoo that is totally inappropriate for a new grandpa…or 62 year old man for that matter.  But somehow we both decided that it was perfect for the situation, so an early Christmas gift was permanently etched on his forearm today to mark the end of more than a decade of sickness and worry.  Sometimes inappropriate is the only way to go…thus making it appropriate!  I don’t have a single tattoo on my body, but I kinda want a smaller version of this one.  But I also want to win the lottery, so we’ll see how that goes!

All Knowing Orchid - December 2015

The All Knowing Orchid

And finally for today I checked with my magic crystal ball substitute…my monster orchid plant.  To refresh your memory, it started blooming the day I was laid off from my job.  That was August 5.  Not only is it still blooming, it has thrown off 4 new shoots with buds on them all.  I know I need a job…I puke a little in my mouth every time I remember that I had to sign up for Obamacare……there it goes again…a little puke.  But the buds are telling me to hang in there and not worry, it will all work out.  And that’s exactly what I’m doing!

**********************************************************************

I’D LOVE IT IF YOU SIGNED UP FOR MY E-MAILING LIST! IT’S JUST YOU AND ME, BABY! I DON’T SHARE MY TOP SECRET SUBSCRIBER LIST WITH ANYONE, SO YOU WON’T GET JUNK OR SPAM OR FOUND IF YOU’RE IN WITNESS PROTECTION! I JUST WANT TO LET YOU KNOW WHEN I POST A NEW ENTRY. SUBSCRIBE HERE

Leave a Reply

