Cinco De Mayo

MULTI COLOR MARTINISHappy Cinco de Mayo Señores y Señoritas!  That’s all the Spanish I know…oh wait.  Yo tengo albondigas.  (I have meatballs…not a lot of use for that one)

I’m feeling a little silly right now because this week has been so regular.  Steven had a doctor’s check-in appointment on Monday.  I went to work, and he drove himself.  Just like real people do it!  Dr. Sprawls was ecstatic to hear all the reports on our trip to Shands.  And now, Steven is just hanging tight, building up his strength and enjoying being home.IMG_1109

He was a little tired after that 4th day of apheresis last Thursday.  They were able to collect just enough CD 34 cells to put us comfortably over the 2 million cell goal for the transplant.  But after they drained him like a vampire, they did a blood test on Friday and needed to juice him back up by tapping a keg in the blood bank.  That gave him enough energy to help me load up the car and head for home at the end of the day.  It’s always so surprising to me that it takes so long to put blood back IN to the body.  It comes out way faster!  2 units of blood took about 3-1/2 hours to transfuse.

IMG_1052I’m trying to keep Steven on a short leash just so he stays healthy and safe long enough to dump him back on the professionals at Shands.  It’s been exhausting trying to protect him from all the little germs and cooties that could way lay this adventure.  I know he’ll be fine once I get him there, so I’m considering wrapping him in bubble wrap until next week.

The hospital there is awesome and I’ve never felt so comfortable in a health care facility before.  It’s so clean and sterile without being creepy.  But is also very homey, even though it’s a huge 7 floor building.  I really can’t put my finger on what makes it so special there, although I know the PEOPLE really factor into it in a big way.  The medical staff smiles.  All of th-2them do it.  All the time.  By the end of the week, they knew us by name, knew our treatment plan and new Steven well enough to tease him about this proclivity for falling on his head.  One of the BMT coordinators even threatened him with a hockey helmet if he doesn’t stay out of trouble…or off the floor.  Now that we;re home, I’ve started calling him helmet head, because that’s the kind of care giver I am.

favoirte place to goWe have 6 more days at home to enjoy the beginning of the end of the last run in with chemo.  Food tastes good to him, he’s got enough energy to do a few things around the house, his hair is starting to grow back and he’s full of it.  I just want to enjoy all of this now as a reminder of what life will be like again after the precarious part of the BMT is over.  The best, which is yet to come, is right there on the horizon.  I can see it!

widget

Steven just won’t get that paper route I’ve been suggesting. So as I continue my entertaining writing projects about our adventures with Cancer, we’d be so very grateful if you’d visit our Go Fund Me Page and drop a donation in the kitty.  I kinda feel like a panhandler, but my company’s plan for personal emergencies is “Don’t Have One!”  So…I’m gonna do whatever I have to do to keep my husband around. After all, I just got him house broken!

**************************************************************************

I’D LOVE IT IF YOU SIGNED UP FOR MY E-MAILING LIST! IT’S JUST YOU AND ME, BABY! I DON’T SHARE MY TOP SECRET SUBSCRIBER LIST WITH ANYONE, SO YOU WON’T GET JUNK OR SPAM OR FOUND IF YOU’RE IN WITNESS PROTECTION! I JUST WANT TO LET YOU KNOW WHEN I POST A NEW ENTRY. SUBSCRIBE HERE

Leave a Reply

