Apheresis – Day 3

IMG_1099We’re tired today, but we’re still trying to hold on to the good humor and positive attitude that we brought from home.  The outcome of our first day of stem cell collection would probably have been easier to take if it hadn’t been for that overachiever, Mrs. Johnson.  Steven put out 750,000 CD 34 cells (and don’t you wonder who has the patience for the job of counting all those little suckers).  The goal is 4 million.  Two million is that absolute minimum to do the transplant, but the doctors like to have 4…I guess that accounts for spillage?  Leftovers?  Whatever.  It was fine for us until Mrs. Johnson told us her day 1 was also her day done because her little baggie ended up with 11 million CD 34s.  Bitch!

The low count for us is nothing we could control.  The amount collected is in direct IMG_1098proportion to the amount of chemotherapy and / or radiation that each patient has received.  As we all know, Steven’s had so much chemo that his pee glows in the dark, so this was not a surprise to the medical professionals.  Unfortunately, we always expect a miracle, so when that miracle doesn’t happen, sometimes we are a little disappointed.  On the other hand, we have had a LOT of miracles during this adventure, and it was probably just Mrs. Johnson’s turn, so we really are happy for her.   Yet, I have to end the paragraph with “bitch.”

IMG_1097The next step was adding another ingredient to the mix.  Steven has been getting Neupogen injections twice a day since we arrived in Gainesville.  The first given at 8 AM-ish.  Since the collection started, he gets the shot a little later, after he’s all hooked up on the machine and it’s running which usually ends up in the 9:15 range.  And then we’d been coming back to Shands at 6 PM for the second injection.  But in order to encourage more of those CD 34 cells to sneak out of the bone marrow and party in the blood stream, making them easier to collect, another injection was going to be introduced.  However, that injection must be administered 11 hours prior to collection,IMG_1100 meaning we needed to make our second trip to the hospital at 10 PM for the plerixafor and Nuepogen cocktail.  That’s a great way to keep from relaxing at the end of the day!  You don’t want to fall asleep and miss the appointment time, but you don’t have the energy to go out dancing until 10.

Monday night wasn’t too bad.  We thought it was a one time thing, so we just considered it a really short date, although the planning was a PIA.  Hope Lodge has a 9 PM curfew.  After that, the alarm is set and the doors are locked so if you want out, you have to make arrangements with the night manager to let you out and then back in.  It’s not a huge deal, and our night manager Diane couldn’t have been nicer about it, but it’s just one more little detail to manage.  Regardless of the hurdles, the shot IMG_1101helped and Steven yielded another 900,000 cells which puts us in the 1.6 million ball park. We were getting closer, but we knew we were in for another late night date on Tuesday.

At this time, I suggest to hit the link to see the side effects of plerixafor.  Allegedly that is the generic name for Mozobil.  My generic name for this nightmare is Colon Blow.  Because if the first dose doesn’t act as a total cleanse, the second definitely will.  As if we weren’t tired enough, we didn’t get much rest last night.  If I wasn’t so tired myself today, I’d probably be feeling bad for Steven.  Unfortunately, I’m downright exhausted.  I’m not sure why.  The collection takes about 5 hours and I just sit here with him while the machine does all the work.  It’s not like I’m running a marathon.  And with my knee still giving me problems, I’m not getting a lot of aerobics in back at the Lodge either.  But for the past few days, I always feel like I could fall asleep if I just sit quietly for too long.

So we’re hoping for a miracle again today.  I don’t know if it’s possible for Steven to shoot out at least 2 million CD 34s today, but if the good Lord has it on his agenda, I would be extremely grateful.

widgetWe could sure use your help.  I’ve been taking a LOT of unpaid time off and Steven just won’t get that paper route I’ve been suggesting.  As I continue my entertaining writing projects about our adventures with Cancer, we’d be so very grateful if you’d visit our Go Fund Me Page. Our insurance has a lot of loopholes for things that aren’t covered, and my job has no loopholes for being able to work from home! And I’m gonna do whatever I have to do to keep my husband around. After all, I just got him house broken!

**************************************************************************

I’D LOVE IT IF YOU SIGNED UP FOR MY E-MAILING LIST! IT’S JUST YOU AND ME, BABY! I DON’T SHARE MY TOP SECRET SUBSCRIBER LIST WITH ANYONE, SO YOU WON’T GET JUNK OR SPAM OR FOUND IF YOU’RE IN WITNESS PROTECTION! I JUST WANT TO LET YOU KNOW WHEN I POST A NEW ENTRY. SUBSCRIBE HERE

Leave a Reply

