WE’RE HERE!

It’s been a hectic and hard time since my last post. Steven has been in and out of our local hospital a half dozen times. I wish we could be issued a frequent flyer card with bonus mile perks for all the trips!  Steven’s blood count continues to be low, and after his second round of chemo, weekly transfusions have become as frequent as re-runs of The Big Bang Theory.  And his nemesis, the financial manager at Wuestoff Hospital, or “Stink Eye” as we call her, has us on speed dial. Quite frankly, the phone calls are more disturbing than the hospital visits!  It’s hard to pay down a hospital bill when you keep going back it. It’s like shaving your legs…once you start you have to keep doing it!

My design center finally moved to the new facility and an unexpected IMG_1041resignation in the builders office has made my job a little more secure for the time being. So that is a big relief. But I have been taking a lot more  unpaid days off and I’m finding that I don’t like how that is reflected in my paycheck.  Did you guys know that if you don’t show up for work, you don’t get paid?  Contrary to the mistaken feeling of security that comes with working for a big corporation, they really don’t give a crap when the going gets tough.

But none of that matters now. Today we are at Shands Cancer hospital in Gainesville. Steven’s last PET scan shows NO cancer in his body right now. Dr. Sprawls also ordered an MRI on his head after I told him about all the Pratt falls Steven has practiced while blacking out! That report showed that his head is…wait for it…UNREMARKABLE. I know that’s doctor talk for “nothing wrong” but I couldn’t be more pleased with the new catch phrase for my shtick!

So now, we are finally on track for the  full Bone Marrow Transplant experience. I’m sureIMG_1039 it’s going to be an E ticket ride and I’m going to try to document every twist and turn. We are here in an outpatient basis for the next few days for testing, counseling, biopsy and whatever else they have planned that will take up 3 days. We’re just following the schedule that they gave us like a treasure map. The treasure is here and we will find it!

IMG_1043We’re in a little room right now and just had a visit from Ethan, the most handsome surfer dude PA on the planet. He’s getting prepped to do Steven’s bone marrow biopsy and we couldn’t feel more relaxed about it.  Really!  Ethan has a calm and confident demeanor that is very reassuring. And his social skills are excellent. He offered Steven a little serving of Ativan to get this party started. And for me, I’m just enjoying the eye candy!  Right now, today is the beginning of our latest adventure and we a happy and ready. So let the games begin!

widgetIf you would like to help me take more time away from work and have more time home caring for Tumor Boy writing about our adventures with Cancer, we’d be so very grateful if you’d visit our Go Fund Me Page. Our insurance has a lot of loopholes for things that aren’t covered, and my job has no loopholes for being able to work from home! And I’m gonna do whatever I have to do to keep my husband around. After all, I just got him house broken!

**************************************************************************

I’D LOVE IT IF YOU SIGNED UP FOR MY E-MAILING LIST! IT’S JUST YOU AND ME, BABY! I DON’T SHARE MY TOP SECRET SUBSCRIBER LIST WITH ANYONE, SO YOU WON’T GET JUNK OR SPAM OR FOUND IF YOU’RE IN WITNESS PROTECTION! I JUST WANT TO LET YOU KNOW WHEN I POST A NEW ENTRY. SUBSCRIBE HERE

One thought on “WE’RE HERE!

Leave a Reply

