To Dog, or Not To Dog? That Is The Question.

OUR SUPERMODEL WHIPPETS

OUR SUPERMODEL WHIPPETS

My brother has already told me I’m crazy…NUMEROUS times!  He’s been telling me that for years, and I’ve never paid attention, so why start now, right?  On the other hand, I think one of those voices in my head has started telling me that I’m crazy, too.  That one is harder to ignore because it never goes away.  So help me if you can. 

ALEXIS - ALL GROWN UP

ALEXIS – ALL GROWN UP

I’ve written quite a lot about Maritza and Zoey, our two Whippet daughters. I focus on them because our human daughter insisted on growing up, moving out and having a life our her own.  Just when I got her all housebroken, too!  So now, Maritza and Zoey are our little girls, and we’ve spoiled them WAAAAY more than we ever spoiled our human daughter.  I don’t think that makes us bad dog owners or bad parents, because we actually knew that Alexis would go out into the world, so our disciplinary tactics were enforced to make her ready for the challenge.  And she’s taking the world by storm so it looks like we did good!  On the other hand, we knew the whippets wouldn’t be leaving us, so we’ve coddled them…a lot.  What the hell, I might as well admit it, they are 2 spoiled bitches…and Steven made them that way.  There…I said it.  He’s a doting doggy daddy and can’t be trusted to ever say no.  His girl dogs…and girl daughter, now that I think of it, have all trained HIM to cave on the first hug, kiss or doggy-eyed grin.

So for long term readers, you probably know the back stories.  But for newbies, you’ll just have to do the research.  Luckily, I’ve become “link-happy” since I’ve learned how to include links in my work.  So for anyone to lazy too do the research using the old Dewey Decimal System (as usual, kids, GOOGLE IT), just click the links and you can catch up. 

IMG_0074In May 2011, I posted an entry titled “Dr. Zack and Nurse Missy” about our cocker spaniel kids, Zack and Missy.  They stood guard over Steven through his chemo and radiation, making sure he was watched while I was at work.  They were part of his recovery and my sanity.  It was a trying time when we lost those loveable fur balls and Steven and I were both heart broken.  As a matter of fact,  it took me eight months before I could write about their passing.  When finally did, I still blubbered like a baby.  Although I couldn’t blubber for long since we already had Maritza and Zoey running around needing attention. 

It took me much longer to get to the posting about our life in between Zack and Missy and Zoey and Maritza.  (By the way, the Z-M-Z-M initial thing was purely coincidental…how’s that for a kick in the butt?)  But when I say Steven went crazy without dogs in our house, I mean that VERY literally. IT WAS TERRIBLE FOR A WHILE!

ZOEY & MARITZA TAKING ME FOR A DRAG.  WHERE WOULD # 3 FIT IN?

ZOEY & MARITZA TAKING ME FOR A DRAG. WHERE WOULD # 3 FIT IN?

With all that being said, let me just yank your leash back into line and let’s get back on topic. We’re talking dogs, we’re talking nuts and we’re talking about getting another Whippet.  I’ve done all the calculations.  I know that this great, big, beautiful, new king size Tempur-pedic bed is the most comfortable bed I’ve ever had.  And one more Whippet will have me out on my ass, sleeping on the floor.  I know there is plenty of room when the girls are curled up into cute little balls cuddling under the covers, but somehow when they fall fast asleep they expand with all fours straight out like Barbie’s arms and stretched to full capacity, they take up more room than I do.  And Whippet World is roomy for Zoey and Maritza, but I don’t know if we could squeeze one more in there when we’re away.  And I’m damn sure not going to let them run free in the house!  I’ve seen Zoey jump almost over the kitchen counter when they start playing tag.  And Maritza has the tendency to chase Zoey so fast that they can’t stop quick enough to avoid crashing into the kitchen cabinets.  If they were left to roam free without human supervision, I’m sure my homecoming would involve an emergency trip to the vet!

THERE WOULD BE MORE ROOM FOR ME IN THE BED IF SHE JUST BENT HER LEGS!

THERE WOULD BE MORE ROOM FOR ME IN THE BED IF SHE JUST BENT HER LEGS!

Of course, designer dogs means designer dog food…at $50.00 a bag.  And we’d need it 1/3 faster if we got another.  And the heartworm meds, and the vet trips and dog park admission and blah, blah, blah, blah, blah.  I know all the reasons why we SHOULDN’T get another dog.  And there’s only one reason why we should.  Because I WANNA.  

I can justify a puppy so easily.  I can even convince myself that I’m doing it for the good of the girls.  But the truth of the matter is that I want just one more chance to mold a puppy into the dog of my dreams.  And what better time to do that than now, when I’m “between engagements,” so to speak.  Why not spend some of this unemployed time doing something that might be stupid, but sounds like fun?  

    ZOEY IN HER FORMER LIFE...WITH SNOW!

    ZOEY IN HER FORMER LIFE…WITH SNOW!

    Zoey came to us as a loner.  She’s adapted quite nicely into our family.  But she still has times where she reverts and retreats when Martiza gets too clingy.  She just recently took over the guest room as her own, so she likes to go to her room…ALONE.  Not very Whippet-like, but we have no idea what her first 2 years of life were like.  We do presume they were not the best, because sometimes I think she’s still worried that this will all come to an end and she’ll have to sleep outside, in the rain…which is what she tried to do the first night we had her!

    RUNNING AT TOP SPEED

    RUNNING AT TOP SPEED

    Maritza has more energy and spunk than a whole army of Cocker Spaniels.  I can take them for a 5 mile walk and she still needs to run the yard when we get home.  She’s gotten good at jumping, and the backyard birdlife now knows not to fly under the 8’ fence line unless they want to end up in a shoe box getting buried next to the squirrel who didn’t get the memo.  Maritza needs to run, and it’s no fun for her if she doesn’t have something to chase.  But if that something isn’t faster than her, then it better be of the same species if it wants to live!

    SAFE HAVEN - WHIPPET WORLD...SEATING FOR 2

    SAFE HAVEN – WHIPPET WORLD…SEATING FOR 2

    I want to see all my girls happy.  I want Zoey to feel like she can come out of her room without being needled by the little latin spitfire, but I want Martiza to have a play mate.  And I think I just want a puppy.

What the hell is wrong with me?  Should I get another Whippet?  Should I get a MALE this time?  Should I get another breed?  Should I just get my head examined?

What to do, what to do?  To dog, or not to dog?  That is the question.  Do you have an answer?

 

*************************************************************************************

I’D LOVE IT IF YOU SIGNED UP FOR MY E-MAILING LIST!  IT’S JUST YOU AND ME, BABY!  I DON’T SHARE MY TOP SECRET SUBSCRIBER LIST WITH ANYONE, SO YOU WON’T GET JUNK OR SPAM OR FOUND IF YOU’RE IN WITNESS PROTECTION!  I JUST WANT TO LET YOU KNOW WHEN I POST A NEW ENTRY.  SUBSCRIBE HERE  

 

Leave a Reply

