Is My Cancer Different?

IMG_0270Steven and I still do lots of research on cancer.  The jury is still out on whether or not that is a normal, or even healthy, life choice.  Nevertheless, it’s become a natural part of our internetting.  A few times a day, I check my e-mail, look at Yahoo news to see who is going to prison, which star “wore it best” and what city is in the top ten for whatever (whatever meaning crime, best place to buy homes, most healthy residents, worst delinquent children or highest murders per square mile) 

And then the cancer links.  We both have various sites we like to frequent.  His have a lot of drug info and numbers, charts and graphs.  (FYI – My husband absolutely loves pie, whether it’s on a plate or in a graph!)  And he also loves multi-syllabic drug names and treatments that I can’t pronounce.  I think that stems from my teasing him about his southern accent when saying ‘regular’ words like “her-kin” (translation – hurricane), “ba” (Bye) “Naw-Lins” (New Orleans) and any time he tries, unsuccessfully, to mimic a Nu-Yak (New York) accent.  I cringe whenever he butchers, “How-er-yew-dewing”  Remember Joey’s big pick up line from Friends? “How you doin?”.  Well it’s not the same when it’s mimicked by Hank Williams!  But back to the topic…

I prefer the sites that focus on nutrition, spiritual and holistic additions to the Rx treatments.  I like to have something to fall back on when fatigue, side effects and general negativity rear their ugly heads.  I’ve found that there are quite a few “woo-woo” practices that can provide relief.  At the very least, my recipes will do no harm.  For instance, I lit aroma therapy candles in the house when Steven went through chemo, to help him relax and remain calm.  He liked the scent, it gave the darkened bedroom a warm glow, and even if it didn’t work, it covered the smell when he had to yak.  Remember when I convinced Steven to put chunks of aloe plant between his butt cheeks to soothe some nasty hemorrhoids? (See post dated June 1, 2011) The only harm done was to me – chest pains from trying not to laugh out loud and the woozy feeling of shock that he actually DID it!  So I do my thing, he does his and I think we have the best of both worlds covered.

IMCD_150x150Badge-1Today I feel that it’s my duty to pass on a great site that I just stumbled upon, called “Is My Cancer Different?” I love the name because it really hits the nail on the head.  This is why:  If you strip away all the medical, social and physical realites of each kind of cancer, there is one supreme outstanding factor that reigns supreme.  Our cancer is WAY different from any other cancer because it’s OURS! The bottom line is that humans are very self centered.  You may have cancer, but yours is not nearly as serious as mine, simply becuase yours isn’t mine!  As much as I can feel for my fellow man, I am absolutely overwhelmed by feelings for ME!  

Now we can pretend to be philanthropists, charitable humans and open-hearted, compassionate members of society.  But when push comes to shove, my ow-ie is worse than yours, my headache hurts more than yours, my ingrown toenail is nastier than yours, my pain in the uterus is sharper than yours and my pee burns hotter than yours.  In other words, whatever it is, mine is always different because it’s mine.  And it needs special attention.  And even if you can just kiss it and make it better, I still need a different and extra special kind of kiss to make me feel good again. 

So I encourage you to check out this link, because it will shed some valuable light on the dark place into which you have stumbled.  There are a zillion sites that will give you so much information that your head will spin and you will be even more confused than you are right now.  So before you turn your brain into a kaleidoscope of conflicting information, click on this link and listen to the simple, calm, reassuring videos that offer some sensible and informational suggestions on what to do next.   

From what I can tell, this is a new venture, so I’m sure lots of in-depth info is yet to come.  But for starters, this is a worthwhile use of 15 minutes that might just calm you without an aroma therapy candle… unless you’re feeling the need to yak! 

*************************************************************************************

I’D LOVE IT IF YOU SIGNED UP FOR MY E-MAILING LIST!  IT’S JUST YOU AND ME, BABY!  I DON’T SHARE MY TOP SECRET SUBSCRIBER LIST WITH ANYONE, SO YOU WON’T GET JUNK OR SPAM OR FOUND IF YOU’RE IN WITNESS PROTECTION!  I JUST WANT TO LET YOU KNOW WHEN I POST A NEW ENTRY.  SUBSCRIBE HERE 

Leave a Reply

