To My Favorite Daughter…OK, My Only Daughter

Today is my daughter’s birthday.  I can’t believe she’s 29 years old.  That sounds so grown up but I guess that’s because she is!  Here’s the thing – I just don’t feel like I’m grown up enough to have an offspring who is this old!  Especially when I think about how smart and mature she is.  Truthfully, I want to be more like her. So usually I only reflect on that thought after a cocktail, because it’s one of those odd circle of life concepts that make my head spin.

I feel guilty when I brag about Alexis, because I know a lot of the reasons she’s turned out to be such an outstanding young woman is because of ME!  So, I’m kind of patting myself on the back when I brag.  (Although what’s so wrong with that?  Every one likes a good pat on the back…even if it is Pat-sterbation.)  On the other hand, as a parent, I learned a lot and grew up with her. So how is it that she learned a little more than I did.  Seriously…how does that happen?  That’s when the cocktail comes into play.  My brain gets stuck in that circle of life!

Happily, with all her smarts and maturity, I managed to brainwash her enough that she picked up the snarky, funny attitude and the humor that makes life fun.  Now, as an adult, I just love talking to her because it’s always amusing for both of us…and what could be better than that!

So just as I was about to send her a little birthday greeting, I got this little instant message exchange, started by her (in Blue) to commemorate the day, our communication style and our love.  She’s allowing me to share, and you get a glimpse of my baby girl – all grown up!

Ra in Text SizeHappy fruit of your loins day!  When I was younger, my birthday was exciting.  After watching my friend     Kelly give birth to her son, I feel like the least I can do is send you a fruit basket!

 

Abaco headshot-ASH  My hoo-haa was just thinking aboout you!  8:53 AM is when you entered the stage and stole the spotlight from me forever!

 

Ra in Text Size                                                                                 Ya, sorry about that!  What can I say?  I learned from the master!

Abaco headshot-ASH  It was worth every stretch mark!

 

Ra in Text Size                                                                                                                                                                                            Thanks, Mom!  

   

Abaco headshot-ASH  Thank you for all the years of getting to watch you dance on the OUTSIDE!  Those Rockette kick lines you used to practice in my lady oven seemed like punishment until I realized it was just a 9 month rehearsal!

Ra in Text Size                                                                                                                                                             ha ha! Now that’s funny! : – )

 

 

Abaco headshot-ASH Not so funny the night I was at the Tomorrowland Stage watching Gloria Estefan and Miami Sound Machine perform.  That was the first time you started to listening to the beat of the music and start practicing the Solid Gold Dancer moves!  I had to leave the show because you were knocking me over!!! ; – )

Ra in Text Size                                                                                                               I had to let my coworker read that, bc that’s funny!

Abaco headshot-ASHHAPPY BIRTHDAY SWEETIE!  I LOVE YOU!!

 

This is the birthday chat the began our 29th year as mother and daughter, and I count my blessings that I am lucky enough to have both written and verbal chats like this on almost a daily basis.  Because with all the ups and downs of child rearing and growing up, on both sides, not only do we love each other, we are blessed to really LIKE each other, too.

Leave a Reply

