At the Oncologist’s

STEVEN AND THE FABULOUS DUFF SPRAWLS, MD

STEVEN AND THE FABULOUS DUFF SPRAWLS, MD

Steven and I are sitting in the waiting room of his oncologist. Business is booming. There were only 2 empty chairs of the 14, and 2 more in wheelchairs. Surprisingly, everyone is chatty and in pretty good spirits, considering the woman next to me mentioned that their appointment was supposed to be an hour ago. As usual, I’ve made my little stage and I’ve been entertaining the group at Steven’s expense. But we’re at the Cancer Center and we’re jolly so how cool is that? Suddenly, I feel better knowing that I made the old guy sitting across from me laugh when I told him to quit being such an big baby about his cancer. Then I told him my arthritic toe story, took a bow and handed out a dozen cards with my blog address. Mother Teresa, watch out! I’m gaining on you. And to all those patients today, you’ve got the worst part licked. The mind set. So carry on and I know we’ll all meet again.

Leave a Reply

