Happy Thanksgiving From My iPhone

STEVEN'S STASH FOR MO-VEMBER (MEN'S HEALTH MONTH)

STEVEN’S STASH FOR MO-VEMBER (MEN’S HEALTH MONTH)

Again I’m posting from my phone. If you didn’t see my very first phone post on Sunday evening…well too damn bad for you because it’s lost forever in cyberspace. It may become one of those recurring things in a marriage that always comes up when the barbs start flying. “Oh yeah? Well YOU deleted the most brilliant piece I ever wrote.”. Was it really that brilliant? I can’t even remember what I wrote. But since it’s gone, that’s my story and I’m sticking to it!!!

Today is Thanksgiving and I’m so very thankful that I still have Steven here. He always says, “If you’re going to be a bear, be a grizzly”. He has a right to say that because he is. And he is attacking this lymphoma the same way the Rituxan treatment is attacking him – like a grizzly! Yet even with that battle going on in his gizzards, he still keeps telling me he’s feeling very positive. He’s not even worried about the possibility that this course of treatment might not be the solution. He is absolute in his resolve that other options, clinical trials and miracles are swirling around us. And with that faith and hope being so strong, I am allowed the momentary weakness of character to get pissed at him for deleting the most brilliant post ever. Because as stupid as it may seem, those banal little square-offs are monumental in a cancer fighting household.  It means we’re normal, common, regular…NOT SICK!!!  And for that I am extremely thankful.

THE APPLE STORE IN THE FLORIDA MALL

THE APPLE STORE IN THE FLORIDA MALL

Today we are going to have Thanksgiving dinner with Matt and Alexis. It is their first time preparing the mealand I’m thankful for ALL of that.  I’m thankful that they both finally found each other after years of having to suffer through the wrong people in order to discover the right person.  I’m thankful that the insight of that miracle is not lost on them.  I’m thankful that Matt’s parents are wonderful people and that I’m looking forward to seeing them again, rather than loading up on the Xanax.  And I’m especially thankful that as I drink my morning coffee, they are probably up to their elbows in turkey slime, as they prepare the bird to be today’s centerpiece.

And finally, I am thankful that Alexis was willing to brave the pre-Holiday crowds at the Florida Mall last night in order to visit the Mothership…The Apple Store.  She picked up my laptop, (the iPatient) from the iHospital after a stay requiring open hard drive surgery.  And tonight, when we return home with tight pants and full Tupperware, I will also have one patient that has been cured, and one who is on his way!

HAPPY THANKSGIVING.  AND DON’T GIVE UP HOPE.

One thought on “Happy Thanksgiving From My iPhone

  1. I'm so happy that you and Steven were able to join us. Enjoy the leftovers and getting your laptop back. Hope you enjoyed your early birthday gift also 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

